

1776 Avenue of the States Lexington, KY 40511 859-244-8222 emap@csg.org www.emap.org

EMAP Commission

Robie Robinson, *Chairperson* Jared Gartman, *Vice Chairperson* Karen Windon, *Secretary-Treasurer* John Ash Geoff Bartlett Mike Daniska Judd Freed Barb Graff Bryan Koon Alisha Powell Wendy Smith-Reeve Joseph Wainscott

EMAP Personnel

Nicole Ishmael, Executive Director Christine Jacobs Assistant Director Scott Gauvin Federal Projects Specialist David Liebman Assessment Coordinator Lindsey Shafer Training Coordinator October 17, 2016

Marty Lawing County Manager Guilford County 301 W. Market Street Greensboro, NC 27401

County Manager Lawing:

On behalf of the EMAP Commission, I am pleased to inform you that the emergency management program of Guilford County has been granted full accreditation by the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP). Upon recommendation by the Program Review Committee, the EMAP Commission voted on the Guilford County's accreditation at its meeting on October 14, 2016.

Emergency management accreditation represents a significant achievement. Guilford County is commended for the work accomplished to achieve compliance with industry standards. To achieve accreditation, your program, which includes many agencies and individuals within the program, took steps to document compliance with sixty-four industry-recognized standards and a peer-review on-site assessment by a team of EMAP trained assessors.

Accreditation recognizes the ability of programs to bring together personnel, resources, and communications from a variety of agencies and organizations in preparation for and in response to a disaster of any type. We applaud Guilford County's leadership and congratulate you on your commitment to achieve accreditation. More importantly, we recognize the dedication to the safety and security of the residents that it represents.

Attached for your use is a news release regarding this noble achievement. In the coming weeks, EMAP will provide a plaque recognizing Guilford County's accredited status. If the EMAP personnel or I can be of assistance or provide more information, please contact us.

Respectfully,

Robie Robinson Chairperson, EMAP Commission

Cc: Jeff Phillips, Board Chair; Donald Campbell, Director; Rachel Faucette, EM Coordinator; and Jim Albright, Emergency Services Director.